Back to Library Homepage Your Library Card

Online Databases

The Plainfield Public Library subscribes to several online databases that are available to the public. If you have any questions regarding the databases or access, please contact the Reference Desk.

"In Library Use" databases are accessible for the public on the library’s own computers.

"Remote Access" databases can be accessed from home using a Plainfield Public Library card.

Database Name
Description
In Library Use
Remote Access
abcmouse.com ABCmouse.com is the most comprehensive early education website available today for children ages 2–6. With over 5,000 interactive learning activities and 450 lessons, ABCmouse.com helps children master fundamentals in reading, math, beginning science, art, music, and more. In Library Use  
Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
NEHGS
New England Historic Genealogical Society offers access to more than 110 million names in a variety of databases, making family research easy and efficient. Some databases included are Abstracts of NY Wills, New England Historical and Genealogical Register, Massachusetts Vital Record, 1841-1915.  Online genealogical periodicals included in the subscription are The American Genealogists, The Connecticut Nutmegger, New England Ancestors Magazine, The New England Historical and Genealogical Register, The New Netherland Connections and The Virginia Genealogist.  Databases and resources are updated and expanded weekly.
In Library Use
Ancestry

Ancestry.com is the #1 online source for family history information, including the web's largest collection of historical records. This resource has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930, and the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps.

How to Use Ancestry.com Library Edition

In Library Use
Biography in Context

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

In Library Use Remote Access
Business Source Premier

This is the world’s definitive scholarly business database, providing indexing and abstracts for more than twice as many active, peer-reviewed, business related journals as any other database. Business Source® Elite offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. This database includes searchable cited references for 1,205 journals.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Chiltons

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs. Some of Chilton Library's more popular features include maintenance and specification tables, step-by-step service and repair procedures, labor estimating tool, and much more.

How to Use Chilton Auto Repair Library
In Library Use Remote Access
Courier News
ProQuest Newspapers provides access to full-text articles from the Courier News from 1999 to date.
In Library Use
Remote Access
Driving Tests Driving-Tests.org is part of a plan to make free permit practice tests written by experts available to anyone who wants to study, along with online copies of official state or province study guides. In Library Use Remote Access
eLibraryNJ

Free downloadable eBooks and Audiobooks with your Library Card and PIN code! (You will need to choos "Libraries of Middlesex Automation Consortium" as your library - you will not see Plainfield in the list of options) Mobile App is available!

How to Use eLibraryNJ via Overdrive

In Library Use
Remote Access
ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Find My Past Findmypast provides access to our ever-expanding collections of over 2 billion historical records from around the world, including US censuses from as far back as 1790, the largest collection of Irish records anywhere online, and US military records from the Revolutionary War up to World War II. In Library Use  
Great Websites for Kids

Great Websites for Kids is a compilation of exemplary websites geared to children from birth to age 14. Suggested sites are evaluated by the Great Websites for Kids Committee using established selection criteria. The committee is made up of members of the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

In Library Use Remote Access
GreenFile

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Hoopla

Hoopla is a digital content provider of music, ebooks, audiobooks, movies, comics, and television, with currently more than 400,000 titles available across those formats. Library patrons have access to all content instantly, without having to place a hold or wait for a title to become available.

Registration is required. You will need your Library Card number and PIN code in order to register for an account. Users are allowed five checkouts per month. This service is provided via our membership in LMxAC.

How to Use Hoopla
In Library Use Remote Access
JerseyClicks
JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features federated searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library. This resource offers keyword and custom searching of databases through a federated search. These high quality databases cover subjects such as health, history, business, education, science, current events, literature, and popular fiction. The suite also includes Informe, a Spanish language full-text database.
In Library Use
Remote Access
Job & Career Accelerator

LearningExpress Job & Career Accelerator™ provides personalized, step-by-step job search assistance-from exploring and matching suitable occupations from over 1,000 detailed occupation profiles to finding available jobs from a database of over 5 million up-to-date job postings.

With Job & Career Accelerator, you can easily create professional and effective resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, improve your work skills, and prepare for occupation-related exams.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Learning Express

LearningExpress Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

How to Use Learning Express

In Library Use
Remote Access
Legal Information Reference Center

Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
LISTA

LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Lynda.com

Lynda is an online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business (including Microsoft Office and Windows).Patrons will need their library card number and PIN code for access.
How to Use Lynda.com

Please note that you can only access course content through the Library's lynda.com login page, and not by directly visiting the lynda.com homepage. Also note that while the Library's lynda.com accounts are accessible through mobile devices, they are not accessible through lynda.com apps. Use your mobile device's browser.

In Library Use Remote Access
MasterFile Premier

MasterFILE Elite, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Medline Plus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. In Library Use Remote Access
Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Military One Source Military OneSource is a confidential Department of Defense-funded program providing comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to active duty, Guard and Reserve Component members, and their families. Information includes, but is not limited to, deployment, reunion, relationship, grief, spouse employment and education, parenting and childhood, and much more. In Library Use Remote Access
Newspapers.com Historical Newspapers from the Northeast. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. In Library Use Remote Access
Novelist K-8 Plus

Focuses on nonfiction reading materials that support the school curriculum, as well as the recreational reading interests of children and students from preschool through middle school.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

How to Use Novelist

In Library Use Remote Access
Novelist

NoveList Plus – a readers' advisory resource for nonfiction, will be an upgrade to our enormously popular fiction NoveList product.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

How to Use Novelist

In Library Use Remote Access
Oxford Reference Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas. In Library Use Remote Access
Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Primary Search

Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
ProQuest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the eighteenth century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ contains over 30 million digitized pages.
In Library Use
Remote Access
ProQuest ProQuest Northeast News Stream enables users to search current news content from the Northeastern United States, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
In Library Use
Remote Access
Reference USA

ReferenceUSA is the leading provider in business and consumer research! The database provides real-time access to more than 20 Million Business, 222 Million Consumers, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Homeowners and Movers.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

How to Use ReferenceUSA

In Library Use Remote Access
Referencia Latina

This comprehensive database offers content from a variety of sources, including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Rocket Languages

Learn a Language with Rocket Languages on Your Own Terms and in Your Own Time! Mobile App is available!

How to Use Rocket Languages

In Library Use Remote Access
Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone offers libraries and their patrons the proven immersion method that more than 22,000 schools have trusted for over 20 years. The award-winning interactive approach has been used by millions of learners around the world and now is accessible in the library or anywhere, anytime.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

How to Use Rosetta Stone

In Library Use Remote Access

ScienceFlix is transforming the way students access science topics, acquire scientific knowledge, and build a lasting interest in science, technology, and engineering.

Curriculum-driven leveled content is integrated with interactive features and intuitive navigation in this highly enaging mobile-ready science resource. With its emphasis on the latest STEM thinking and the Next Generation Science Standards, ScienceFlix provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, and so much more.

In Library Use Remote Access
Small Business Resource Center

This database offers users complete small business management resources via a combination of unparalleled periodicals and reference content. From conducting industry research to financial planning, to marketing a product and franchising a business, the Small Business Resource Center provides users with all the information they need to succeed.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
Teacher Resource Center

TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

(part of the JerseyClicks collection)

In Library Use Remote Access
TumbleBooks

TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks; animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

How to Use Tumble Books Library

In Library Use Remote Access
Tutor.com

Tutor.com connects you to an expert tutor (3-10PM, 7 days a week) and provides 24/7 resources for Students to help you finish your homework, study for your test, and write your essays; and for Adults it provides job help, GED preparation, adult learners, and much more. 24 hour Essay and Resume review is also available.

How to Use Tutor.com
In Library Use Remote Access
Zinio

Zinio, the world's largest newsstand, offers full color, interactive digital magazines for your enjoyment. Browse from your library's collection of popular titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of magazines you can download. Mobile App is available!

How to Use Zinio

In Library Use Remote Access

Databases - Local History

 
Name and Description
In Library Use
Remote Access
Photograph Collection

Photograph Collection

The Plainfield Public Library's historic photograph collections include over 100,000 individual photographic prints, negatives, slides and glass plates by over a dozen local photographers from the 1860's to the present.

Complete Information on Photograph Collections

In Library Use
Remote Access
postcards

Plainfield Postcard Collection

The Plainfield Postcard Collection contains 2,000 postcards with 1,000 unique images. The Chase collection and the Ricketts collection make up the core of the library's holdings, depicting Plainfield in the early 1900s. 

In Library Use
Remote Access
blueprints

Detwiller Blueprint Collection

This unique collection of 15,000 architectural drawings and blueprints documents the rich history of Plainfield's architectural development. It includes residences, houses of worship, businesses, and multifamily dwellings from 1887 to the present. The drawings have been microfilmed and digitized for preservation and Internet access.

In Library Use
Remote Access
City Directories

Plainfield City Directories

The Local History department holds city directories from the 1870s through 1982, when current phone books came into existence. The city directories are available in print, on microfilm and in an online searchable PDF format.

In Library Use
Remote Access
dailypress

Historical Plainfield Newspapers

The Local History department holds 23 newspapers and magazines dating back to 1837. This collection includes microfilmed copies and broadsides, as well as digitized titles. The Courier News, available on microfilm, is located in the upstairs reference section. The earliest newspapers are available on microfilm and in an online searchable PDF format.

In Library Use
Remote Access
Connect to Wifi Contact the Webmaster Ask us a Question Terms & Conditions Facebook Twitter
Facebook Twitter